Holga Variety

Just picked up the developed film from the photo lab. I have not been shooting as much and this batch, consisting of 4 rolls of film, took me a long time to finish. There was a roll from the Recesky TLR, 2 from the Holga and 1 test roll from my Olympus 35RC. I believe the first photo was taken during the Christmas period and the last photo of the lot was just after Chinese New Year. In some sense, these photos captured my festive season.

I am not exactly sure what are the reasons for me slowing down but I would attribute it to:

(1) developing and printing photos are really expensive for a student like me with little income and

(2) I was feeling a drought in inspiration and really did not want to be wasting film shooting aimlessly.

Reason (2) is somewhat an extension of (1). That said, I would not go so far as to say that every photo is now a masterpiece. There are still trigger happy random snaps that turn out awful. After all, part of the appeal of lomography is the randomness involved, the simplicity of just pressing the shutter.

(A random thought, at this point in time, I still have no idea what is the difference between lomography and analogue photography?)

This time, I ran different rolls through my Holga. A roll of 120 slide film, Kodak Ektachrome E100G and a roll of 135 Fujifilm Neopan 400 Black & White. Here are some of my favourite shots.

Santa’s Helper
Snacks on Willows
the parents
the playground looks boring in Black & White
Public Housing in Singapore

Still not doing good with the black & white. It requires so much more attention to light conditions and getting the right contrast. Slides are still fun to shoot with all the vibrant and rich colours. Something is still lacking in my photos. I want them to tell stories rather than just be snapshots of memories.

 

One thought on “Holga Variety

Leave a Reply

